Arrow Home
Arrow Site Map
Arrow Search
Arrow New User
Arrow Contact Us


    News Archive Current Funding News  




AIAA invites you to nominate candidates for the following 2001 awards:
  • Aerospace Contribution to Society Award is presented to a notable contributions to society through the application of aerospace technology to social needs.

  • J. Leland Atwood Award is bestowed annually upon an aerospace engineering educator n recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession.

  • History Manuscript Award is presented for the best historical manuscript dealing with the science, engineering, technology, and/or impact of aeronautics and astronautics on society.

  • Faculty Advisor Award is presented to the faculty advisor of a chartered AIAA Student Branch, who in the opinion of student branch members, and the AIAA Student Activities Committee, has made outstanding contributions as a student branch faculty advisor, as evidenced by the record of his/her student branch in local, regional, and national activities.

  • Losey Atmospheric Sciences Award is presented for recognition of outstanding contributions to the atmospheric sciences as applied to the advancement of aeronautics and astronautics.

  • Pendray Aerospace Literature Award is presented for an outstanding contribution or contributions to aeronautical and astronautical literature in the relatively recent past. The emphasis should be on the high quality or major influence of hte piece rather than, for example, the importance of the underlying technological contribution. The award is an incentive for aerospace professionals to write eloquently and persuasively about their field and should encompass editorials as well as papers or books.

  • Lawrence Sperry Award is presented for a notable contribution made by a young person to the advancement of aeronautics or astronautics. The nominee must be under 35 years of age on December 31 of the year preceding the presentation.

  • Space Processing Award is presented for significant contributions in space processing or in furthering the use of microgravity for space processing.

  • Summerfield Book Award is presented to the author of the best book recently published by AIAA. Criteria for the selection include quality and professional acceptance as evidenced by impact on the field, citations, classroom adoption, and sales.

  • System Effectiveness and Safety Award is presented for outstanding contributions to the field of system effectiveness and safety of its related disciplines.

    The deadline date for all of the above nominations is July 1, 2001. To request a nomination form or additional information, please contact Peter Gabriel, Honors and Awards Liaison, at (703) 264-7623 or via e-mail at

     Source: Aerospace America, May 2001

    Copyright 2000 iCentral, LLC. All Rights Reserved. No guarentees can be made on the terms and conditions of the offerings described on this page.