Arrow Home
Arrow Site Map
Arrow Search
Arrow New User
Arrow Contact Us


  General News Items News Archive Current Funding News  




The recipients of 2001 APS/DFD (American Physical Society/Division of Fluid Dynamics) Award winners are as follows:
  • Prof. Howard Brenner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, received 2001 Fluid Dynamics Prize Award for his outstanding and sustained research in physico-chemical hydrodynamics, the quality of his monographs and textbooks, and his long-standing service to the fluid mechanics community.

  • Prof. John Kim, University of California, Los Angeles, CA, received 2001 Otto LaPorte Award for his pioneering work in the development of direct numerical simulation as a tool in turbulence research and for his seminal contributions to the understanding of the physics and control of turbulent boundary layers.

  • Prof. Charles Meneveau and Dr. Stefano Cerutti, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, received 2001 Francois Frankiel Award for their paper titled "Statistics of Filtered Velocity in Grid and Wake Turbulence [Phys. Fluids 12, 1143 (2000)].

  • Dr. Greg A. Voth, Haverford College, Haverford, PA, received 2001 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award for his original Doctoral Thesis work on Langrangian Acceleration Measurements in Turbulence at Large Reynolds Numbers.

  • Congratulations to our colleagues for receiving these singular honors.
    To contribute News Items to this site, please Contact Us
    Copyright 2001 iCentral, LLC. All Rights Reserved.